Compulsory Earthquake Insurance


Compulsory Earthquake Insurance – DASK

Being compulsory having earthquake insurance for the residences identified in law by the date of 27th September 2000, Natural Disaster Insurance Institution (DASK) was established in order to provide this insurance as the representative of public entity and began to offer the insurance. Compulsory Earthquake Insurance, in general, is an insurance system for the residences within the boundaries of the municipalities. The maximum fee is 150.000 TL for all building types by the date of 1st January 2013.

According to the second article of Decree Law no. 587 on Compulsory Earthquake Insurance, the buildings covered by the insurance are as below:

  • Buildings as dwelling that are constructed on immovable belonging to private ownerships and having registered deeds.
  • The Independent Sections covered by Flat Ownership Law No. 634.
  • The Independent Sections in these buildings which are used as commercial purposes, office and similar purposes.
  • The dwellings built by government or by credits supplied from government due to natural disasters.

Compulsory Earthquake Insurance is also available for;

  • Buildings with floor easement,
  • Buildings that are not identified yet at Deed and still registered as “land, etc” at Deed, cooperative houses that are not identified at Deed.
  • We would like to remind that the dwellings built before 2000 which do not have independent deed yet, can be insured according to the declaration of insurance owner and the information on land deed.

Guarantees Provided by Compulsory Earthquake Insurance:

The physical damages directly occurred on insured buildings (including also basement, main walls, common walls separating independent sections, ceiling and floor, stairs, halls, roof and chimneys) as a result of,

  • Earthquake,
  • Fire as a result of Earthquake,
  • Explosion as a result of earthquake are covered by DASK within the limits of insurance.

Buildings excluded by Compulsory Earthquake Insurance:

  • The buildings of public institutions and organizations,
  • The buildings constructed in villages,
  • The buildings used completely for commercial or industrial purposes,
  • The buildings constructed after 27 December 1999 but without construction permission according to related legislation,
  • The buildings without Project and Engineering Services,
  • The buildings identified with a carrier system modified as adversely affected or weakened,
  • The buildings identified with a carrier system constructed non-conform according to the project or legislation that can be adversely affected,
  • The buildings decided to be demolished by authorized public institutions, unsuitable to be used as dwelling and neglected, dilapidated or abandoned buildings.

Conditions Excluded by Compulsory Earthquake Insurance:

  • Debris removal expenses, landslide, business interruption, loss of rent, alternative residence and workplace costs, liability and all other indirect damages,
  • Any movable property, goods and similar items,
  • Body damages including death,
  • Non-pecuniary compensation claims.